Accuracy in Prayer: Positive

I recall telling a friend and pertaining to another, “Whatever successes he has right now, I’m not a part of it anymore.” That was what I thought then, but when I really started reflecting on what I said, I realized how inaccurate the thought I had was.
`
No matter the distance, no matter the hindrances, no matter what circumstances I and another are in, I can still be connected to that person— that is if I want to, I always have a choice. I can still make an impact in his or her life even without them knowing it. I can make a difference.
`
How?
`
Through prayer
`
It clearly doesn’t matter if they have asked me to pray for them. What matters is that out of my care and love for these people, out of the abundance and compassion that the Lord has given me inside my heart, I am able to give some of my time to bow my head, let my knees touch the cold floor, and utter my earnest prayers for them.
`
And it’s also not a big issue if they have been praying for me in return even without my request. I hardly give that a thought, but if ever they do, a bunch of thanks.
`
It really is a wonderful feeling, though, when somebody has tapped me at the back, or has sent me a simple message, beaming as he or she says, “Ghay, I prayed for you! I know the Lord will provide anything that you will need.” And just as wonderful how my heart overflows as I reply, “Thank you so much! That meant a lot to me.
`
Another is when someone would voluntarily ask me, “What would you want me to pray about you, Ghay?” At that, I feel loved, cared for and I see how really important I am to that person. These people love me! It leaves me feeling perked up, encouraged and invigorated.
`
If that’s how I react with such, then undoubtedly, they could have the same response if I do that for them as well.
`
Do unto others what you would want them do unto you.  And, Give a little love and it all comes back to you. Yes. But the thing is, not everything I do for others will be reciprocally done to me. What I’m stressing on is that even though they do not do for me the same things that I do for them, still in the end, I will have no regrets that I’ve done things that will benefit them. I have been of help, even in the littlest way. Again, I have made a difference.
`
  Prayer does wonders, not only to other people but for me as well. During my private moments with God, His Spirit engraves in my heart the names of the people whom He wants me to pray for. Even in prayer, He strips off selfishness in me and replaces it with concern for others and their needs. As I go on the rest of my day, I know in my heart that these people will be secured in His hands. I can go on without worrying, for the Lord has taken note of everything I told Him. Then, I smile.
`
Why worry when you can pray? This is one of my favorite quotations since I was in college. It still lives true even today. Worry does not do anything good for my mind, heart and body. It vacuums all the energy in me. The Lord has taught me a counter-attack for worry and that is prayer itself. Well, it definitely works for me. And if it works for me, it will for you, too.
`
In additional to this sharing, there are times when along my day or week, good news will come knocking on my doorsteps. The person/s I have prayed for has achieved this or that. They have gone here and there. However the news reaches me, I rejoice!
`
I rejoice because I have prayed for this person. I have offered time to draw him/her to the Lord. I celebrate the victory someone I prayed for has achieved. My way of thinking is transformed… “Whatever successes he/she may have right now, or in the future— casting aside whatever the space is in between us— I am a part of it.”
`
Even if they are unaware, even without their requests made known to me, even if it’s just a confidential thing between me and the Lord, I will pray for them because by doing so, when they are blessed, then I am blessed all the more. After all, my prayers are for free!
`
Likewise, you will be a part of someone else’s life depending on your choice, and the decision will always fall in your hands… But do keep in mind that to pray continually and to pray for others with joy and gladness is the Lord’s will. Prayers offered in faith make mountains move, make walls crumbling down, and evil dominions are triumphed over.
`
`
`
1 Thessalonians 5:17    “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
`
`
James 5:16    “Therefore… pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.”
`
`
Job 42:10    “After Job had prayed for his friends, the Lord made him prosperous again and gave him twice as much as he had before.”
`
`
Proverbs 15:29        “The Lord is far from the wicked but He hears the prayer of the righteous.
`
(All italics, mine)
`
`
Pray unceasingly for others. It has benefits. Dare to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

