Flu Lessons for Wonder Woman

7.4.2009

 

Before I came to write this blog, I have re-read my previous entry, “Betrayal of a Friend.” And as of the moment I am typing this, I am just recovering from a flu that have bounded me on my bed for five days. I know I should be resting right now but there are just some thoughts that I wanted to put into writing. By the way, I haven’t got any A(H1N1) flu strain, thank God.

`

All right! To start off, during those times that I was tucked up in my room, beneath thick bed sheets, and was having chills and a bad flu, my brain didn’t stop from forming questions and ideas. You see, I am not the type who easily gets sick, and I often joke around that I was some kind of a “Wonder Woman”. Turned out, I wasn’t really Wonder Woman at all. I got the flu and yeah, I was stuck lying on my bed, can’t even move a muscle. Oh geez!

`

Friends have been sending me their concerns through text messages and calls, reminding me of things that I should do so I would “get well soon”. Mentally, I was well. But physically, I was totally wasted! My mind wanted to do this and that but I just couldn’t bring my body to do it. 

`

On my recovery process, I have finished reading Jesus On Trial and have read my Bible together with it. Though, my physical stomach refused to take food, my spiritual appetite craved. I had a raw interest again on the life of Jesus, especially during His trial and execution here on earth, despite the fact that since childhood I have heard of it for it had been taught from home to Sunday School. The difference now is that, I am REALLY interested on the topic and not just “interested” because my mommy and daddy will be mad if I don’t listen to them or to my Sunday School teacher. (Tee-hee!)

`

So as the flu got into me, I complained so much about muscle and joint pains. I cried because I felt like I was burning caused by the high fever that’s been wearing me out. I had difficulty in breathing because of the cough. I had a terrible headache. It was torture, I thought. And then, I thought again… Was it really torture?

`

Ting! Ting! Ting!

`

I was hastily reminded of what Jesus had undergone. From the moment He got arrested to the moment He was laid on the tomb, its dynamics were awfully heart-breaking, breath-taking, and just oh-so-overwhelming! (Read the last parts of the four gospels of the Bible, Matthew, Mark, Luke and John, so you would know that I am far from exaggerating.) Then I opted to randomly make a “comparison-and-contrast list” on some issues in my head. Here are some:

`

`

(1)Jesus was malevolently hit with a whip, Cat O’ Nine Tails as it was called, adorned with spines on its end (thanks to Ptr. Bernardo, my Christian Education instructor back in 3rd year highschool, who imparted me with this knowledge). As He was slapped every single time, the whip landed on His skin and it got deeply stuck, and there’s no other way to get it out but to pull it forcefully downward, which meant that the horrific thing must rake through His skin and muscle tissues. Thus, His flesh and blood literally went flying and were spewed everywhere… How come I grumbled of my muscle and joint pains?

`

(2)A thorn-crown, which was smaller than the size of Jesus’ head, was vehemently put on Him badly severing His forehead, His temples and His brows… Was my headache really that terrible?

`

(3)Random people spat on His bloodied face. Yuck? Yeah, Jesus could’ve got Hepatitis or Tuberculosis, or something worse than those. I only got ordinary cough and have kept myself sanitized to prevent having further serious infections. Still, I whined about having trouble in breathing.

`

(4)He was nailed on the cross and He probably felt cold. I comfortably rested on my bed with soft pillows and blankets to keep me warm.

`

(5)He was mocked by the mob. I was comforted by my family and friends.

`

(6)A soldier made Jesus drink vinegar when He got thirsty. My dad brought me fresh fruit juices even though I didn’t ask for it.

`

(7)My “torture” only caused me too minimal. Jesus’ torment caused Him His life…

`

`

On my present situation, the Lord still teaches me a lot. I know He can identify with how I feel for He became human, too. And what’s more to it? He suffered. He endured. He died and carried my every sin and sickness with Him in the grave. In three days, just as He promised, He rose again. He is the Jehovah Rapha, the Great Healer, the One who shook the tombstones and raised dead people back to life, the One who made the blind see, the lame walk, the deaf hear, the mute speak, and the list goes…

`

With the blatant truth I have reflected on, I was again and as always, dumbfounded. By His blood, I am free. By His wounds, I am healed. In Jesus’ name, everything is possible, everything is attainable.

`

`

And as for me, I still have to do lots of what I call faith-work-out. This “Wonder Woman” has still so much more to learn…

Leave a Reply

