What’s Constant Other Than Change?

[Wrote this on 7.7.2009. Some words were written in my native language (Filipino). But don’t worry, there are translations right after it.^_^]

Last night, someone who’s really close to my heart has sent me a text message asking how I was. After I got the flu, I have restrained to text or do things that would stress me out. Well, now I am quite “getting back on track.”  The conversation started out like this:

`

FRIEND: Kamusta ka na? (How are you?)

`

I thought hard and typed on my keypads. These are just one of those times wherein I wanted to say I’m okay but I feel it’s going to be an inadequate answer. How was I really doing, anyway?

`

ME: Anong gusto mong sagot? (What kind of answer would you like me to give?)

FRIEND: Beyond great! Hehe..

ME: Mmm… I can’t be more delighted knowing that God showers me with His grace and love every single minute of my life. At wala na akong iba pang maisasagot (And I’ve no other suitable answer), I am living under grace!

FRIEND: Me too! Alam mo, ang laki na ng ipinagbago mo… (There has been a big change in you.)

`

I thought hard again at that reply. It made me picture myself. And then I typed.

`

ME: Talaga? (Really?) I hope it’s for the best.

FRIEND: Yes, it is. I really feel the joy in you despite it all…

ME: I am just opening more my heart to Him…

`

I’ll cut my sharing of our conversation at that.

`

CHANGE.

`

I thought I was the only one noticing that change in me. I know there has been a great change with the way I talk, the way I think, the way I carry myself in front of other people, and the way I walk in this world. And everyday, it just keeps getting better and better.

`

I must say that there are only two ways in which a person could change. Either he changes for the worst or for the best; just those two, and no in betweens.

`

The constant thing in this world is change, an old cliché but still remains true. A person changes depending on his desire to do so, and the outcome is often rooted on that aspiration. Others step on other people just to acquire the change that they want and would later find themselves enslaved by vanity and selfishness; they have changed for the worst. Those who choose to change to touch someone else’s life and bless others often find themselves free and fruitful; they have changed for the best.

`

I had a closer look on the way I have been living my life then, and the way I live it now. Before, I would easily store up anger and hatred in my heart when someone has done me wrong. I know I haven’t murdered anyone, but I surely hated. And I know for a Biblical fact that “whosoever hates his brother is a murderer.” (1 John 3:15) Now, I see the change, I see how I lovingly respond to people who have done injustices in my life. I begin to look and observe if it’s me who’s been practicing prejudice to others and thus putting my own life into jeopardy. Slowly yet surely I feel there is change.

`

How did I bring myself to change for the best as my friend has commented?

`

Well… I did not bring myself to change on my own. I needed help on this area. I couldn’t take credit for whatever transformation my character has undergone because it was all from the grace of God. Yes, it was solely from God, by Him, through Him, and for Him. Many who would read this might raise a skeptical brow at what I am saying right now. But you wouldn’t know it’s true unless you have experienced it yourself.

`

No man is capable of changing himself for the “genuine best” unless he has his life completely sold-out to Jesus; totally abandoned and absolutely surrendered to Him. Hey, I know it could be the scariest part of your life, to entrust your life to somebody else. But once you recognize who the real Jesus is and how real He is, you’d wonder why you wasted your life feeling scared and worried for so long. Believe me, this is just one of the many great things He could do for your life.

`

Changing for the best isn’t at all easy. There were moments wherein I was so serious about it and it doesn’t seem to be serious about me. I am so determined to reap outcome but disappointments dog my steps. I needed a lot of prayer, meditations, counseling, fasting, and rededication. There were times that I also wanted to rush things but the Lord made me understand that change itself is like a bud that needs its own time to unfold and that I don’t need to be serious on change alone, I must be serious about Him.

`

One important factor is that I have my confidence in God. I know I have surrendered my heart and my life to Him, all I needed to do is to trust in Him and cooperate with Him. Again, His assurance is there; always available and free.

`

God will take delight to work in a heart that’s willing to be changed for His glory alone. He offers a safe and secured transformation that gets even more enhanced and polished as time passes. A kind that many others will be blessed and will be enthralled by it, and they themselves would desire to have that kind of extravagant change that only comes from the living God.

`

I am no longer desiring for yesterday to come back, for yesterday is not the better room for change. Today is! Yesterday is nothing more than a memory, something where I could learn from; today I can learn and discover more. Tomorrow is yet to come, I could only hope for the best.

`

Behind all these things, there’s another one that remains constant other than change. And that’s none other than God himself. Change changes, and changes change. But God is ever constant. He remains as He is from eternity past, to eternity present and to eternity future. I hope you got me there.

`

The Lord says in Malachi 3:6, “I the Lord do not change.” I trust those words; I yield onto what He’s promised. Seasons fade, flowers fall, the world’s brightest mind could soon be found demented, and the most beautiful girl or the handsomest guy would soon sag. But the Lord God would remain to perpetuity. I choose to trust and believe in this God.

`

I am being shaped and changed by the solitary lover of my soul— Jesus Christ… And I celebrate!

Leave a Reply

