On Being A Single Mom

I’ve stumbled upon a random blogger’s entry wherein she said that single mothers are those most likely to fall into poverty.

I beg to disagree.

Being a single mother myself, I would like to believe what the word of God says.

“Behold, children are a gift of the LORD, the fruit of the womb is a reward.” (Psalm 127:3)

It’s not that I am justifying whatever mistakes I have done in the past. It’s that despite the wrongs I’ve made, God was, and still is, gracious to me for forgiving me of my most contemptible sins thinkable, and even gifting me with a daughter—my very own flesh and blood.

There are so many women my age who wish to have children of their own, yet do not have any. Of course, having and raising kids is done best under the umbrella of marriage. But what if you are like me who apparently has a kid, and who do not have a suitable male partner, a responsible husband, or a trustworthy father to your child for that matter? Are you to spurn your life forever?

Image

Look at the picture above. How do you see it? Is the glass half empty or half full?

Well, it is just a matter of perspective. Personally, I would like to fill my life with positivity—noticing and acknowledging the beauty behind anything that people deem unfavorable. Yes, you may hurt inside or cry your eyes out when something awful happens. Still the important thing here is how you stand tall again and be courageous enough to put your best foot forward, the second time around. You empower and boost the things you put your focus on. Positivity or negativity is multiplied when concentrated upon. Which do you want more of?

Being able to hold and kiss my daughter for the very first time, to witness her ever first facial expressions, her laugh, her cry, see her learn how to walk, hear her call me “E-mie” (her version of “mommy”), to have her reach out for me when she gets hurt, to feel her tight, baby bear hugs and be smothered by her kisses when I get home from work or whenever she becomes extra sweet, to  walk hand in hand with her as she takes her baby steps—these are just some of my treasures. Not all women are gifted with such, thus making me a little bit more “special”, a little bit richer in a different manner than others. It is an immense thing that God made my womb fruitful. Yes I am a single mother, but not impoverished. I am blessed beyond compare.

Knowing that my daughter has an extraordinary purpose to fulfill on earth, and that God has put her under my care, gives me the drive to be of aid to her in every way that I can. To see her grow under the grace of the Lord is a delightful experience, one I would not trade for anything. I set my heart, my mind, my hands and feet to work. I want to give the best for my daughter just as my Father in heaven gives the best for me.

In my honest opinion, those who are most likely to plunge into poverty are those who are too engrossed on being apathetic and lazy.

“Lazy people are soon poor; Hard workers get rich.” (Proverbs 10:4)

Need I say more?

If only all the single mothers out there would see their child as a gift from the Lord then it would really make a vast difference…

Image

Leave a Reply

