Envisage

I dreamt of you again.

It was weird…

I never expected you to be there yet it seemed as if you were to stay by my side not only for that swift moment but till forever.

You held my hand, and I felt that a certain warmth rushed in to touch every single cell in my heart. You said you’ll be back for good, and that you won’t be leaving– not anymore. That was an awfully familiar promise of long ago, a promise that ended up getting broken.

As your lips moved to form the words that affirmed you will stay, I held my breath. I cried… But why did I? Was it because of relief? Of an intense joy? Or because of an immense sadness, knowing at the back of my mind that everything will melt away as soon as I open my eyes to wake up and  be back in reality?

Everything is so different when I am awake. Yes… Everything…

For a moment, I felt you were real. I felt your heart belonged to mine once more…

…but then again, it was only a dream.

Nothing more.

Nothing less…

Leave a Reply

